Log in

About Cirp

CIRP is the world leading organization in production engineering research and is at the forefront of design, optimization, control and management of processes, machines and systems.
The Academy has restricted membership based on demonstrated excellence in research and has some 600 academic and industrial members from 50 industrialized countries.

The Vision of CIRP

To promote research and development among its members from Academia and Industry to contribute to the global economic growth and well being of society

The Mission of CIRP

To develop the highest level international network of eminent Researchers and Industrialists for the purpose of marshalling their knowledge and insights

CIRP has instituted the F.W. Taylor Medal of CIRP and The General Pierre Nicolau Award.

The F.W. Taylor Medal

As an incentive for scientific work, the International Academy for Production Engineering has instituted the F.W. Taylor Medal of CIRP - a distinction for young scientists.

In the late 1940s it was becoming increasingly clear that the development of new production techniques was being hampered by the lack of appropriate analysis methods. There was evidently an urgent need for fundamental research to be undertaken in this area.
It was realized that, in view of the importance and scale of the problems to be tackled, only international cooperative action would be effective.

2016-2017 Professor Yusuf Altintas, Canada
2015-2016 Professor Ekkard Brinksmeier, Germany
2014-2015 Professor Kanji Ueda, Japan
2013-2014 Professor Laszlo Monostori, Hungary
2012-2013 Professor Marco Santochi, Italy
2011-2012 Professor Andrew Nee, Singapore
2010-2011 Professor Fred Van Houten, Netherlands
2009-2010 Professor Gerry Byrne, Ireland