Log in

CWG - Former Groups

The past Collaborative Working-Groups with their Minutes online (with the Minutes of the years concerned) are:


Urban Factories Production in Cities (STCs A, Dn, O)
Duration: Aug. 2017 - Feb. 2020
Chair: Prof. Christoph Herrmann
Vice-Chairs: Prof. Sami Kara & Günther Schuh
Secretary: Dr. Moneer Helu

Self-Optimizing Machining Systems (STCs C, M, P)
Duration: Aug. 2016 - Feb. 2019
Chair: Prof. Hans-Christian Möhring
Vice Chair: Prof. Kaan Erkorkmaz
Secretary: Prof. Petra Wiederkehr

Composite Materials Parts Manufacturing (STCs A, C, F, M, P)
Duration: Aug. 2015 - Feb. 2018
Chair: Prof. Jürgen Fleischer
Vice Chair: Prof. Roberto Teti
Secretaries: Dr. Alessandra Caggiano and Prof. Hans-Christian Möhring

Bio Inspired Manufacturing Processes and Systems  (STC E)
Duration: Jan. 2015 - Aug. 2016
Chairman: Prof. Ajay Malshe

Learning Factories for future oriented research and education in manufacturing (STC O)
Duration: Jan. 2014 - Aug. 2016
Chairman: Prof. Eberhard Abele & Prof. G. Chryssolouris
Vice Chairman: Prof. Wilfried Sihn
Secretary: Mr. Stefan Seifermann

Laser in Production (STCs C, Dn, E, F, G, M, P, S)
Duration: Jan. 2013 - Aug. 2015
Chairman: Prof. Michael Schmidt
Vice-Chairman: Prof. Bert Huis in't Veld
Secretary: Dr. Raoul Plettke

Continuous Maintenance (STCs A, Dn, O)
Duration: Aug. 2012 - Jan. 2015
Chairman: Prof. Rajkumar Roy
Vice-Chairman: Prof. Rainer Stark
Secretary: Prof. Kirsten Tracht

EERU - Efficient and Effective Resource Utilization (STCs A, C, Dn, G, O)
Duration: Aug. 2012 - Jan. 2015
Chairman: Prof. Dave Dornfeld
Vice-Chairmen: Profs. Michael Hauschild and Shozo Takata
Secretary: Prof. Christoph Herrmann

Micro-Production Engineering (STCs M, P, S)
Duration: Jan. 2012 - Aug. 2014
Chairman: Prof. Eckart Uhlmann
Vice Chairwoman: Dr. Brigid Mullany
Secretary: Prof. Dirk Biermann

BioManufacturing (STCs C, E, P, S)
Duration: 2010 - 2012
Chairman: Prof. Mamoru Mitsuishi
Vice Chairman: Prof. Paulo Bartolo
Secretary: Prof. Ajay Malshe

EREE - Energy and Resource Efficiency and Effectiveness (STCs A, C, Dn, G, O)
Duration: 2009 - Jan. 2012
Chairman: Prof. John Sutherland
Vice-Chairmen: Profs. Dave Dornfeld and Joost Duflou
Secretary: Dr. Christoph Herrmann

Hybrid Processes (STCs C, E, F, G, M, P, S)
Duration: 2010 - Jan. 2012
Chairman: Prof. Bert Lauwers
Vice Chairman: Mr. Donald McIntosh
Secretary: Mr. Andreas Klink

Surface Integrity and Functional Performance of Components (STCs C, E, F, G, M, P, S)
Duration: 2008 - 2011
Chairman: Prof. I.S. Jawahir
Vice Chairman: Prof. Ekkard Brinksmeier
Secretary: Dr. Rachid M'Saoubi

“SPECIES” - Production System Evolution (STCs A, Dn, O)
Duration: 2006-Aug.2009

Chairman: Prof. Tullio Tolio
Link to Website:

IPS2 - Industrial Product-Service-Systems (STCs A, Dn, O)
Duration: 2007 - Aug.2009

Chairman: Prof. Horst Meier

Duration: Jan.2006 - Jan.2009

Chairman: Prof. Dave Dornfeld

ECN - Engineering as Collaborative Negotiation (STC Dn, O)
Duration: 2003-2008
Chairman: Prof. Robert Wilhelm

HFE - Human Factors & Education
Duration: 2000-2008

Chairman: Prof. Alain Bernard

Manufacturing Paradigms - Assessment & Future (STC A, Dn, M, O)
Duration: 2004-2008
Chairman: Prof. Francesco Jovane

End: 2008
Chairman: Prof. Johan Meijer

Micro-Nano Technology
Duration: 2002-2007
Chairman: Prof. Bob Hocken

PMI - Process-Machine Interactions (STC C, M, F, G)
Duration: 2003-2007
Chairman: Prof. Manfred Weck

TMM - Thermal Measurement in Manufacturing (STC C)
Duration: 2004-2006
Chairman: Prof. M. Davies

VRL - Virtual Research Laboratory
Duration: 2001-2005
Chairman: Prof. S. Tichkiewitch, followed by Prof. E. Westkämper

Changeability (STC O)
Duration: 2003-2005
Chairman: H.P. Wiendahl

HPC - High Performance Cutting (STC C)
Duration: 2001-2003
Chairman: G. Byrne